Webinar: Introduction to Cycle 49r1

Virtual | May 23, 2024

Presenter

Andy Brown, ECMWF's Director of Research

Description

ECMWF’s next scientific model upgrade at the Data Centre in Bologna, IFS Cycle 49r1, is scheduled for October 2024. 

49r1 brings major changes to the IFS model and data assimilation system, including among many others: assimilation of 2m temperature observations, Land-surface model updates, increased resolution and soft-recentering of the ensemble of data assimilations (EDA)  and activation of the stochastically perturbed parameterisations (SPP) model uncertainty scheme in all ensemble configurations. 

In 49r1 the re-forecast systems for medium and extended range will see the change in run frequency, both will run  over past 20 years, on the fixed days of the month, with medium range running every four days, and extended range running every two days.

With IFS Cycle 49r1, the resolution of the wave model will change to 9km (Tco1279) grid in the medium range and 36 km (Tco319), to match the atmospheric model.

In this webinar Andy Brown, Director of Research, will introduce the Cycle 49r1 and its performance.

Attendance

This webinar will be open to all ECMWF data users. If you would like to attend the webinar, please complete the registration form to receive the joining information.

This webinar will take place on Thursday, 23 May 2024; 09:00 UTC / 10:00 BST / 11:00 CEST

A recording of the webinar will be made available.

#newfcsystem

#49r1