Webinar: Cycle 49r1 verification, new products and technical aspects

Virtual | June 11, 2024

Presenter

Matthieu Chevallier, Head of Evaluation

Description

ECMWF’s next scientific model upgrade at the Data Centre in Bologna, IFS Cycle 49r1, is scheduled for October 2024. 

Cycle 49r1 brings the change in frequency for medium and extended range re-forecast systems. Both will run  over past 20 years, on the fixed days of the month, with medium range running every four days, and extended range running every two days.

49r1 brings major changes to the IFS model and data assimilation system, including among many others: assimilation of 2m temperature observations and Land-surface model updates.

With IFS Cycle 49r1, the resolution of the wave model will change to 9km (Tco1279) grid in the medium range and 36 km (Tco319), to match the atmospheric model.

In this webinar  Matthieu Chevallier, Head of Evaluation, will present the latest model verification, new products, and technical aspects like the access to test data.

Attendance

This webinar will be open to all ECMWF data users. If you would like to attend the webinar, please complete the registration form to receive the joining information.

This webinar will take place on Tuesday, 11 June 2024; 09:00 UTC / 10:00 BST / 11:00 CEST

A recording of the webinar will be made available.

#newfcsystem

#49r1